# **GLIDING AUSTRALIA**



THE GLIDING FEDERATION OF AUSTRALIA INC TRADING AS GLIDING AUSTRALIA
C4/1-13 THE GATEWAY, BROADMEADOWS, VICTORIA 3047
PHONE +61 (0) 3 9359 1613 ABN: 82 433 264 489

In this document references to Gliding Australia means The Gliding Federation of Australia Inc.

# Gliding Australia Annual General Meeting Wednesday 31<sup>st</sup> August 2022

This meeting was held at as a Zoom webinar, commencing at 7:30pm AEST

# **MINUTES**

- 1. The meeting Opened at 7:30pm
- 2. Appointment of Minute Secretary: Terry Cubley was appointed Minute Secretary
- 3. Record of members present: See Appendix 1
- 4. Receipt of Apologies
  - 1. Gene Walker 22394
  - 2. Lindsay Mitchell 13064
  - 3. Chris Bowman 09732
- 5. Appointment of Proxies

Gene Walker 22394 Secretary
 Lindsay Mitchell 13064 Secretary
 Chris Bowman 09732 Steve Pegler

#### 6. Receipt and Adoption of the 2021 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Moved that the minutes of the 2021 AGM be approved. Moved: Jenny Thompson, Seconded: Viv Drew. <u>Carried</u>.

#### 7. Presidents Report

President Steve Pegler presented his report to the meeting.

**Included** Reflections, impact of Covid; Move from GFA to Gliding Australia; Launch of ITP; Part 149 preparation; notice of Proposed constitution changes

Constitution change aims to improve delineation between Policy (Board) and implementation (Executive). It will not be a complete rewrite. The changes will be explained to members and an Extraordinary General meeting will be held in early Nov to seek your support.

**Moved** that the President's report be approved.

Moved: Steve Pegler Seconded: Drew McKinnie. Carried.

# 8. Appointment of Regional Board Members

8.1. Board Member & alternate – NSW: Mike Cleaver and Beryl Hartley
 8.2. Board Member & alternate – QLD: Lisa Turner and Mike Codling.
 8.3. Board Member & alternate - SA/NT: Peter Brooks and Alison Swart

8.4. Board Member & alternate - VIC/TAS: Duncan Robertson

8.5. Board Member & alternate – WA: Sally Crawcour and Tom Holt

#### 9. Ratify Heads of department (GFA Executive) (nominated by peer groups)

9.1 Chair of Airworthiness Anthony Smith
9.2 Chair of Operations Pat Barfield
9.3 Chair of Soaring Development Jenny Thompson
9.4 Chair of Marketing Sarah Thompson

9.5 Chief Experience Officer TBA

9.6 Safety Manager Drew McKinnie9.7 Junior Gliding Representative Ryan Driscoll

# 10. Ratify Appointment of Regional Officers (nominated jointly by regions and department)

#### 10.1 RTO/ Airworthiness

Deputy CAD

New South Wales

Victoria/Tasmania

Queensland

South Australia/Northern Territory

New South Wales

Arnie Hartley, Colin Veal

John Wharington, Joe Luciani

Zachary Simpkins, Lindsay Mitchell

Cathy Conway,

Rob Hanbury

10.2 Regional Managers Operations

New South Wales
Victoria/Tasmania
Allan Payne
Queensland
South Australia/Northern Territory
Western Australia
Aaron Stroop
Allan Payne
Dennis Lambert
Steve Shuck
Allan Gartland

#### 10.3 Airfields, Airspace and Avionics

National Airfields, Airspace and Avionics Officer

New South Wales

Victoria/Tasmania

Queensland

South Australia/Northern Territory

Western Australia

Graham Brown

Chris Thorpe

David Jansen

Hank Delen

Steven Pearson

#### 10.4 Soaring Development Panel

Deputy Chair SDP:

National Competitions Committee
International Teams Committee chair
National Coaching Director
FAI Badges/ Records
IGC Representative:
Trophies and Awards:

Craig Vinal
L Patterson, M Scutter, B Sizer, K Claffey, M Keller, N Gilbert
Andy Maddocks
Peter Temple
Beryl Hartley
Mandy Temple
Kerrie Claffey

#### 10.5 Soaring Development Managers

New South Wales Robbie Bull Victoria/Tasmania Mike Durrant Queensland Miles Gore Brown South Australia/Northern Territory Craig Vinal Western Australia Arnold Geerlings

#### 10.6 Other Officers

Investment Officer Chris Bowman
Investment Committee Chris Bowman, Lindsay Mitchell, Steve Pegler
Women in Gliding Representative TBA
Specialist. Web manager Sean Young

Motion: Moved that all of the nominated officers in items 8,9 and 10 above be approved:

Moved Terry Cubley, Seconded Samuel Peto. Carried

# 11. Receipt and Adoption of the Association's Statement of Accounts and Auditor's report:

With the absence of Treasurer Chris Bowman, Steve Pegler presented the financial report.

**Moved** that the 2021/2022 GFA Financial Statement and Auditors report be approved:

Moved Steve Pegler, Seconded Jenny Thompson. Carried

# 12. Appointment of auditors:

<u>Moved</u> that NMM AUDIT AND ASSURANCE PTY LTD be appointed as auditors for 2022/2023. Moved Steve Pegler, Seconded David Villiers. <u>Carried</u>

# 13. Closure of the Annual General Meeting

The AGM was closed at 8:03pm

# 14. Presentation of GFA Awards and Trophies

The following awards were presented.

Award	Awarded for	Claim process		
GFA AWARDS				
Bill Iggulden Award	Services to gliding as a volunteer	Vivienne Drew		
Ryan Award	Services to Airworthiness	David Villiers:		
J R Muller Award	Services to Promotion and Marketing	Sarah Thompson		
Hoinville Award	Services to Operations	No award		
Wally Wallington Trophy	Services to the Sport of Gliding	Arnold Geerlings		

FLYING PERFORMANCE AWARDS				
Martin Warner	Greatest claimed Gain of height for	Peter Temple 16,198		
Trophy	the season (May 2021 to April 2022)	Ft		
Wally Woods	Longest X/C flight of the season	Peter Temple 1166		
Trophy	(May 2021 to April 2022)	km		
Bob Irvine Trophy	Flight with highest WeGlide points	<ul> <li>James Nugent 1164</li> </ul>		
	score (May 2021 to April 2022)	points		
WeGlide Ingo	3 best flights by a single pilot	<ul> <li>Tobias Geiger</li> </ul>		
Renner Cup	3 best hights by a single pilot	3538.92 point		
WeGlide Winter Cup	3 best flights by a single pilot over	Chris Woolley 1380.2		
	winter	points		
WeGlide Australian	Accumulated points from a club,	<ul> <li>Beverley Soaring</li> </ul>		
League	weekend flights.	Society 286 points		
Roger Woods	Best place by an Australian at	<ul> <li>Matthew Scutter 3rd</li> </ul>		
Trophy	World Championships	15m class		
RAeS Shield	Highest speed by an Australian at	Matthew Scutter		
	World Championships	92kph		

ANNEX A List of members present (52)

Attended	First Name	Last Name
Yes	Kirk	Amos
Yes	Patrick	Barfield
Yes	Greg	Barrington
Yes	Greg	Beecroft
Yes	Peter	Brooks
Yes	Robbie	Bull
Yes	Tim	Burgess
Yes	Peter	Cesco
Yes	Mike	Cleaver
Yes	Jim	Coutts
Yes	Sally	Crawcour
Yes	Terry	Cubley
Yes	Josh	Davis
Yes	Len	Diekman
Yes	lan	Downes
Yes	Vivienne	Drew
Yes	Ryan	Driscoll
Yes	Shaun	Driscoll
Yes	Stuart	Ferguson
Yes	Arnold	Geerlings
Yes	David	Goldsmith
Yes	Richard	Gray
Yes	James (David)	Harries
Yes	Beryl	Hartley
Yes	Arnie	Hartley
Yes	David	Higgs

First Name	Last Name
Robert	Hocking
Owen	Jones
John	Kenny
Harbans	Mann
Russell	McCurdie
Roy	McInnes
Andrew	McKinnie
Dennis	Medlow
Robert	Moore
David	Nugent
John	O'Neill
Steve	Pegler
Samuel	Peto
Duncan	Robertson
Ron	Sanders
Nel	Schuster
Colin	Short
Anthony	Smith
Pete	Temple
Richard	Thirkill
Jenny	Thompson
Sarah	Thompson
Lisa	Turner
David	Villiers
Sam	Woods
Sean	Young
	Robert Owen John Harbans Russell Roy Andrew Dennis Robert David John Steve Samuel Duncan Ron Nel Colin Anthony Pete Richard Jenny Sarah Lisa David Sam