

# GFA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Saturday August 25th 2018 Brisbane International Virginia Hotel

# MINUTES

1. Opening: The meeting was opened at 4:40pm by President Peter Cesco

# 2. Minute Secretary: Terry Cubley (GFA Secretary) was appointed as Minute Secretary

### 3. Record of members present:

Peter Cesco, Lindsay Mitchell, Mandy Temple, Dave Shorter, Andrew Simpson, Drew McKinnie, Owen Jones, Chris Stephens, Terry Cubley, Viv Drew. Ian Grant

Dave Donald, Steve Peglar, Mitch Turner, Stuart Ferguson Ian Caldwell Gary Chaplin Mike Cleaver Phil Dodd Mark White Patrick Pulis Jim Crowhurst

# 4. Receipt of Apologies:

Rob Moore OAM, Brenton Swart,

# 5. Appointment of Proxies

#### Nil

#### 6. Receipt and Adoption of the 2017 Annual General Meeting Minutes Moved Lindsay Mitchell, seconded Drew McKinnie. Carried

# 7. Presidents Report

The Presidents report was tabled and accepted.

# 8. Appointment of Regional Board Members 2017/18

8.1. Board Member & alternate – NSW:	Chris Stephens & Ian Caldwell
8.2. Board Member & alternate – QLD:	Dave Donald & Bob Kilpatrick
8.3. Board Member & alternate - SA/NT:	Brenton Swart & Steve Pegler
8.4. Board Member & alternate - VIC/TAS:	Vivienne Drew & Ian Grant

- 8.5. Board Member & alternate WA:
- 8.6. Junior Gliding Club nominee
- **Owen Jones & David Fosdick** Mitch Turner

### 9. Ratify Heads of department (nominated by peer groups)

9.1 Chair of Airworthiness

### Andrew Simpson

ç	9.2	Chair of Operations	Drew McKinnie
ę	9.3	Chair of Soaring Development	Jenny Thompson
ç	9.4	Chair of Marketing and Development	Ian Caldwell
10. Ratify Appointment of Regional Officers (nominated jointly by regions and department)			
1	10.1	RTO/ Airworthiness Deputy CAD New South Wales Victoria/Tasmania Queensland South Australia/Northern Territory Western Australia	Rob Hanbury; Anthony Smith Arnie Hartley, Colin Veal Phil Organ , Joe Luciani David Villiers Derek Spencer, Cathy Conway Rob Hanbury
1	10.2	Regional Managers Operations New South Wales Victoria/Tasmania Queensland South Australia/Northern Territory Western Australia	Pat Barfield Alan Payne Ivor Harris Tom Leech Allan Gartland
1	10.3	Safety Management System National Safety Manager New South Wales Victoria/Tasmania Queensland South Australia/Northern Territory Western Australia	Stuart Ferguson Mike Cleaver Mark White Gary Chaplin Patrick Pulis Phil Dodd
1	10.4	Airfields, Airspace and Avionics National Airfields, Airspace and Avionics Officer New South Wales Victoria/Tasmania Queensland South Australia/Northern Territory Western Australia	Graham Brown vacant Chris Thorpe David Jansen Geoff Wood Michael Eales
1	10.5	Soaring Development Managers New South Wales Victoria/Tasmania Queensland South Australia/Northern Territory Western Australia	Mick Webster Matt Gage Miles Gore Brown Craig Vinall Greg Beecroft
1	10.7	Other Officers National Competitions Committee chair International Teams Convenor National Coaching Director FAI Badges FAI Records IGC Representative Trophies and Awards Women in Gliding Representative Specialist. Web manager	Tom Claffey Jim Crowhurst John Buchanan Beryl Hartley Jenny Thompson Terry Cubley Tim Shirley Wendy Medlicott Sean Young

**11.** Receipt and Adoption of the Association's Statement of Accounts and Auditor's report: Moved that the 2017/18 GFA Financial Statement be approved: Moved Dave Shorter/Seconded Andrew Simpson. <u>Carried</u>

**12. Appointment of auditors:** Moved that NMM AUDIT AND ASSURANCE PTY LTD be appointed as auditors for 2017/18. Moved Dave Shorter/Seconded Lindsay Mitchell. <u>Carried</u>

# 13. Closure of the Annual General Meeting

The meeting was closed at 5:10pm